spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer spacer

Ban An Khaw, Ph.D.

Dr. Khaw is a leading authority in the field of cardiac imaging and new technology development. He co-developed Myoscint for myocardial infarct detection with Dr. Edgar Haber (former President of Bristol-Myers-Squibb). Dr. Khaw has been with the Harvard Medical School and the Massachusetts General Hospital, Division of Nuclear Medicine, Department of Radiology and the Cardiac Unit for almost three decades, and is currently the Director of the Center for Drug Targeting and Analysis, at the Bouve College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Northeastern University. Dr. Khaw is a pioneer in the application of immunological methods in the diagnosis of cardiovascular diseases, as well as being an inventor for a dozen of patents. Currently, he is on the editorial boards of Bioconjugate Chemistry and American Journal of Nuclear Cardiology.

H. William Strauss, M.D.

Dr. Strauss is the Clinical Director, Nuclear Medicine Service at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. Formerly Dr. Strauss was Professor of Radiology and Chief of Nuclear Medicine at Stanford University School of Medicine and Vice President of Bristol-Myers-Squibb from 1992 to 1994. Prior to that, Dr. Strauss was Professor at the Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital for almost two decades. The recipient of numerous awards, his recent honors include the Distinguished Service Award of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and distinguished Johns Hopkins Nuclear Medicine Alumni Award. He has served on many national and international committees and boards such as Advisory Committee of Federal Drug Administration (1979-1987) and Medical Expert Advisory Committee on Disciplinary Matters, Board of Registration in Medicine (1988-1992). He serves on the editorial boards of the American Journal of Cardiology and Journal of Nuclear Medicine. He is the author of over 450 papers and articles and editors of several major books.

Matthias J. Schnell, Ph.D.

Dr. Schnell is a Professor of Microbiology and Immunology and Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia. He has served there as the Acting Chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology from 2003-2005 and as the Associate Director of the Center of Human Virology at Thomas Jefferson University from 2002-2005. Dr Schnell is a reviewer for several scientific journals and served on the editorial boards of the Journal of General Virology from 2002-2005 and the Journal of Virology from 2003 until present. He has served as a convener for the American Society of Virology since 2003 and is a member of several NIH study sections. Dr. Schnell’s research interests focus on HIV-1, Hepatitis C, Anthrax and rabies virus vaccine development as well as on the molecular pathogenesis of neurotropic virus infections. Dr. Schnell has published more than 60 papers in peer-reviewed journals including Cell, PNAS, EMBO, and J. of Virology.

Guiliano Mariani, M.D.

Dr. Mariani is Full Professor of Nuclear Medicine and Director of the Postgraduate Specialty School in Nuclear Medicine at the University of Pisa Medical School, and Director of the Regional Center of Nuclear Medicine of the University Hospital of Pisa, Italy. He has been in the field of Nuclear Medicine for over 35 years, initially involved in pharmacokinetic studies with radioactive tracers in humans, then in all other aspects of diagnostic and therapeutic Nuclear Medicine. His expertise has developed through several collaborations with other disciplines and with other institutions, including extended stays at the National Cancer Institute, Bethesda, MD (1974-1976), and at the Harvard Medical School, Boston, MA (1986-1990). Dr. Mariani is currently International Associate Editor of “The Journal of Nuclear Medicine,” and member of the Editorial Board of the “European Journal of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging,” “The Quarterly Journal of Nuclear Medicine,” and of other prestigious international journals. He is the current President of the Italian Study Group of RadioImmunoScintography and Radioguided Surgery and the former President of the International Association of Radiopharmacology. He has published six books and more than 180 articles in peer-reviewed journals covering virtually all aspects of diagnostic and therapeutic Nuclear Medicine, both clinical and experimental, with a major focus on molecular targeting with radioactive tracers.